Snowmen and pizzas

Since I am snowed in along with the rest of the world, here is a little of what I’ve been up to lately.

image

Bet you never would have guessed…we’ve been playing in the snow!!

image

This day I was supposed to be flying to Guatemala but God had other plans and sent us a snowstorm instead.  After I got over my initial disappointment, I didn’t mind as I finished up a couple projects that needed to be done.  And I got to hang out with my favorite siblings and freeze my fingers off.  So much to be thankful for.

image

My little Snow Lady.  We finally had a super wet snow which is perfect for creating snowmen.

image

Althea outdid us all in size.  Her snowman was very amazing!  She put it right in the front, center of the yard so everyone could see it as they passed by.

image

Hosea was building a snowman, but it decided it just wanted to be a snow pile, so it plopped right over.  Rather discouraging!  But Hosea did not give up and instead he created a snow dog!!  It was superb!!

IMG_2306

I found one of my hobbies this winter.  Cooking!!  I don’t have time to cook in the summer except for a couple times that I bake.  So this winter I decided I’d better improve my cooking skills.  I am having SO much fun!  My favorite thing to do is take an ordinary meal and make it interesting with new recipes and ideas.  This time I had to use tomato sauce and Althea suggested Deep-dish pizza.  Out came Pinterest which is my favorite place to look for new recipes.  The recipe I found was very easy- I made my own dough and sauce but it could be made with store-bought to speed the process up.

IMG_2310

I might have to hire a guard to protect the food from bandits!!!

IMG_2313

This pizza was complete with sausage, pepperoni, fresh tomatoes, oregano, and lots of cheese.  It was rather spicy so next time I’ll cut back on the pepper flakes. Also, the crust was a bit goey, so next time I’ll bake the crust first or bake the whole pizza longer.  It was definitely different than regular pizza, but had great flavor and I’m already looking forward to making it again!  If you’d like the recipe, just comment and let me know, or follow me on Pinterest.

image

 

We did make it Guatemala after all, the next day.  We had a delightful 8 days there.  But I’ll post about that next week.  So come back sooner or later to see pictures of cute kids and warm, sunny Central America.

One thought on “Snowmen and pizzas

Leave a comment